We make AURVIZ o1, smart glasses that can write a clinical note when the doctor asks. We have marked it where it appears. Everything else here comes from each company’s own website or from published research.
An AI scribe listens to your consultation, with the patient’s permission, and drafts the note for you: the history, the findings, the diagnosis and often the prescription. You check it, correct it and sign it. In India they are sold as apps for your phone or computer, as part of clinic software, or as a paid add-on to an EMR.
The short answer
- What you get: a draft note or prescription a few seconds after the consultation, which you must read and sign.
- Time saved: real but modest. In the best-run studies in the US, doctors spent about 16 to 22 minutes less on notes per day of clinic.
- Accuracy: good enough to help, not good enough to trust blindly. In one 2026 study, 18% of AI notes left something out and 5% had an error that could have caused serious harm if no one had corrected it.
- Cost in India: free plans exist; paid plans run from ₹5 a consultation to ₹1,499 a month per doctor, and some come inside clinic software.
- Hindi and Hinglish: several Indian scribes say they handle them, but there is no independent test of Indian clinical conversations yet. Try one on your own consultations first.
- Consent: tell the patient, ask, and stop if they say no. India’s data-protection law makes this a legal duty in full from about May 2027.
How an AI scribe works in a clinic
- You ask the patient. “I use an AI note-taker so I can look at you, not my screen. It only listens while we talk, and I check every note. Is that all right?”
- You start it on your phone, computer or clinic software, or, with smart glasses, with a press of the frame.
- You talk as you normally would, in English, Hindi or both. The scribe turns the speech into text.
- It drafts the note in your format: complaints, history, examination, diagnosis, advice, and in many tools the prescription.
- You read, correct and sign. This step is not optional: you are responsible for what the note says.
- The note goes where you keep records: your EMR, a printed or WhatsApp prescription, or a copy-paste into hospital software.
AI scribes you can use in India
| Scribe (maker) | Price (₹) | Languages (maker’s claim) | Works on | Keeps the audio? | Fits with |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EkaScribe (Eka Care) | Free: 5 consultations a day. Pro: ₹1,499 a month per doctor | 20+ incl. Hindi, Bengali, Telugu, Tamil, Marathi, Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, Punjabi, Urdu | Web, Android, iPhone and iPad, Windows, Mac, browser extension, WhatsApp | Yes; its policy says recordings may be used to train its AI unless you switch that off | Eka’s own EMR; pastes into web EMRs |
| H.A.L.O (HealthPlix) | Not published | 11 languages (not named), mixed speech | Inside the HealthPlix EMR | It says it saves the conversations; how long is not stated | HealthPlix EMR (14,000+ doctors) |
| Augnito Omni (ambient) and Spectra (dictation) (Augnito) | Not published | 37+ languages (Hindi not named) | Windows, web, Chrome, iPhone, Android | Not stated | “All major EMRs” |
| CurePilot (CureNearMe) | Included in its hospital software at ₹99 per bed a month | Hindi, Gujarati, Tamil, Marathi, Telugu, Kannada, Malayalam, Punjabi, Bengali, Odia, English | Any phone or tablet | Not stated | CureNearMe software; ABDM records |
| SwasthiQ AI Scribe (SwasthiQ) | ₹5 per consultation (credits), with its clinic software | English, Hindi and mixed Hindi-English | Browser | Not stated | SwasthiQ’s Kaagazy clinic software; ABDM-ready |
| Doctors App AI Scribe (Doctors App) | Clinic plans from ₹10,999 a year (+GST); which plan includes the scribe is not stated | Prescriptions in 14 languages | Web, Android, iPhone | Not stated | Its own EMR; ABDM and ABHA |
| Medoriax (Apace) | Not published | English, Hindi/Hinglish, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Marathi, Bengali (notes in English) | Desktop, tablet, phone | Not stated | Copy-paste or PDF; EMR links for enterprises |
| RxVarta (RxVarta) | Private beta | 8 Indian languages (not named) | Android | Says nothing leaves the doctor’s phone | — |
| AURVIZ o1 (ours, preorder) | ₹17,999 for the glasses (first batch) | Understands Hindi and other Indian languages; writes notes in English | Smart glasses with the AURVIZ app | Audio not kept | AURVIZ app |
Languages, accuracy and user numbers are each company’s own claims. Apollo Hospitals uses its own AI tools for notes and discharge summaries, but they are not sold to other doctors. We found no AI scribe from Practo.
Do they really save time?
The strongest evidence comes from two randomised trials in the US, published in November 2025:
- UW Health: doctors using an AI scribe spent about 22 minutes a day less on notes, and reported less exhaustion.
- UCLA: one of two scribes cut the time spent writing notes by 9.5%; the other made no clear difference. Both improved burnout scores a little.
A larger 2026 study of 8,581 doctors (JAMA) found about 16 minutes less documentation per 8 hours of patients. Studies without a comparison group report bigger drops in burnout, but they mostly hear from enthusiastic users.
Indian companies quote their own figures, such as “5 minutes saved per consultation”, but no study of AI scribes in Indian clinics has been published yet.
How accurate are they?
Every note needs checking:
- In a 2026 study of real clinic notes (UC Davis), 18% of reviewed notes left something out, 11.5% contained something that was never said, and 5.3% had an error rated serious if left uncorrected. Doctors changed about a tenth of the words.
- The most common mistakes are omissions: a medicine, an allergy, a dose.
- Indian clinics add their own problems: short, noisy consultations, family members talking at once, and everyday phrases such as “I have sugar” for diabetes.
- Scribes that only hear the consultation miss what is shown, not said. In a 2026 simulation, a scribe that could also see through smart glasses missed far less than one that only heard.
Patient consent and data in India
No Indian law bans AI scribes, and no regulator has made rules just for them. But the rules that already apply all point the same way: tell the patient, ask, and keep what you record safe.
- Medical confidentiality applies now. The National Medical Commission’s 2023 conduct regulations are on hold, so the 2002 regulations still apply. They say a patient’s confidences “should never be revealed unless their revelation is required by the laws of the State” (clause 2.2), and that you must not disclose what you learn in practice except to a court, where there is a serious and identified risk to someone, or for notifiable diseases (clause 7.14).
- Data protection until May 2027. The IT Act’s 2011 rules treat medical records as sensitive personal data and ask a company, firm or practice to get written consent before collecting it. Whether this covers your clinic is a question for your lawyer.
- The DPDP Act from May 2027. India’s Digital Personal Data Protection Act, 2023 treats a patient’s voice and health information as personal data. It has no separate category for health data, and its exemption for “personal or domestic” use is unlikely to cover a doctor’s practice. For a routine consultation you need the patient’s informed consent; the narrow exceptions are medical emergencies and public-health threats.
- When it applies: the rules were notified on 13 November 2025, and the duties to give notice, take consent, keep data safe and report breaches apply in full 18 months later, in May 2027. The government has said it may shorten this; no shorter date had been notified by 15 October 2026. From then, a breach must be reported to each affected person and to the Data Protection Board, with a detailed report within 72 hours, and penalties reach ₹250 crore for weak security.
- Recording the conversation. India has no single law that says whether one person or everyone must agree to a recording, and court rulings depend on the facts. In a clinic, the confidentiality rules above make the answer simple: tell the patient and ask.
- The government’s AI guidance. ICMR’s 2023 ethical guidelines on AI in healthcare say patients “should be fully informed about the use of AI technologies” and “must have complete autonomy to choose or reject” them. The health ministry’s AI strategy (SAHI, February 2026) says accountability for AI’s outputs “must be with the people”.
In practice:
- Tell the patient an AI tool is listening, and why.
- Ask for consent and note it in the record, as the Telemedicine Practice Guidelines ask you to record explicit consent.
- Stop if the patient says no, or would rather not be recorded.
- Read and correct the note before you sign it.
- Ask your vendor where the audio goes, how long it is kept, whether it trains their AI (EkaScribe’s does unless you switch it off), and how a patient can have it deleted.
This is general information, not legal advice. Have a lawyer look at your consent wording and your vendor’s terms.
Phone, desk microphone or glasses?
- At a desk in OPD, a phone or a desk microphone works well and costs least.
- On ward rounds, home visits and in emergency, your hands are busy and you keep moving. A scribe you wear lets you keep your hands and eyes on the patient.
AURVIZ o1 (our product) is smart glasses that take notes only when you ask: you double-press the frame or ask AIRA, its assistant. It understands Hindi and other Indian languages and writes the note in English in the AURVIZ app, where you review it. The audio is not kept. See AURVIZ for doctors
Choosing an AI scribe: a checklist
- Try it on your own consultations, in the languages your patients speak, for a week.
- Check the note format matches how you write: SOAP, a prescription, a discharge summary.
- Ask where the audio and notes are stored, for how long, and in which country.
- Switch off AI training on your patients’ recordings if you don’t want it.
- See how it reaches your records: direct to your EMR, ABDM/ABHA, or copy-paste.
- Plan the consent: a sentence you say, a notice on the wall, a way to stop.
- Compare the price model: per doctor per month, per consultation, or inside clinic software.
- Keep the final say: never let a note go out unsigned.
Questions doctors ask
How much does an AI scribe cost in India?
From free to about ₹1,499 a month per doctor. EkaScribe has a free plan of 5 consultations a day and a Pro plan at ₹1,499 a month; SwasthiQ charges ₹5 a consultation; CureNearMe includes its scribe in hospital software at ₹99 per bed a month. HealthPlix, Augnito and Medoriax don’t publish prices.
Does an AI scribe work in Hindi or Hinglish?
Several Indian scribes say so, including EkaScribe, HealthPlix’s H.A.L.O, SwasthiQ, Medoriax and CureNearMe’s CurePilot. These are the companies’ own claims: no independent test of Indian clinical conversations has been published, so try one on your own patients first.
Do AI scribes really save time?
Yes, modestly. In US studies doctors spent about 16 to 22 minutes less on notes per day of clinic. No Indian study has been published yet.
How accurate are AI scribe notes?
Accurate enough to help, not to trust blindly. In a 2026 study, 18% of AI notes missed something and 5.3% had an error that could have harmed a patient if not corrected. Always read the note before you sign.
Is it legal to use an AI scribe in India?
Yes, with care. No Indian law bans AI scribes, and no regulator has made rules just for them. But the recording is the patient’s personal health data: medical confidentiality rules apply now, the IT Act’s 2011 rules ask businesses for written consent before collecting medical data until May 2027, and from May 2027 the DPDP Act’s consent, security and breach duties apply in full. So tell the patient, ask their consent, let them say no, and read every note before you sign. This is general information, not legal advice.
Which AI scribe is best for Indian doctors?
There is no independent comparison yet. Use the table above, then judge by your languages, your note format, where the audio is kept, the price, and how it fits your records.
Sources
Company pages were read on 15 October 2026. AURVIZ o1’s details are from our own specifications and doctors page.
- EkaScribe: plans and languages
- Eka Care privacy policy
- HealthPlix: H.A.L.O
- Sarvam, 4 June 2026: how HealthPlix turns consultations into records
- Augnito Omni
- CureNearMe: CurePilot AI clinical scribe
- SwasthiQ AI Scribe
- Doctors App AI Scribe
- Medoriax
- RxVarta
- Reuters, 13 March 2025: Apollo Hospitals bets on AI
- NEJM AI, 26 November 2025: UCLA randomised trial of AI scribes
- NEJM AI, 26 November 2025: UW Health randomised trial
- JAMA, 1 April 2026: AI scribes across 5 health systems
- AMA, 11 June 2025: AI scribes save 15,000 hours
- JAMA Network Open, 2 October 2025: AI scribes and burnout
- JMIR Medical Informatics, 17 April 2026: quality of AI-written notes
- npj Digital Medicine, 13 May 2025: hallucination and omission rates
- npj Digital Medicine, 26 February 2026: scribes that can see
- arXiv, 15 September 2026: evaluating AI scribes in India (preprint)
- Digital Personal Data Protection Act, 2023
- MeitY, 13 November 2025: when the DPDP Act comes into force
- Digital Personal Data Protection Rules, 2025
- The Indian Express, 17 November 2025: the timeline may be shortened
- IT (Reasonable security practices and sensitive personal data) Rules, 2011
- National Medical Commission: rules and regulations (the 2023 regulations held in abeyance)
- Indian Medical Council (Professional Conduct, Etiquette and Ethics) Regulations, 2002
- Telemedicine Practice Guidelines, 25 March 2020
- ICMR, 2023: Ethical guidelines for AI in biomedical research and healthcare
- PIB, 17 February 2026: SAHI, the strategy for AI in healthcare